Museums in Kiev
St. Sophia Cathedral is the greatest monument of Slavic and world culture, history, architecture and art. It is one of the major architectural sites of Kiev too. The significance of this monument is confirmed by its inclusion in the UNESCO World Heritage List. General director of National Reserve “Kievan Sophia” Nelya KUKOVALSKA: “I COME TO SOPHIA LIKE IN A SACRED PLACE” (Specially for the “Prime Excursion Bureau”)
Kiev-Pechersk Lavra is the most famous monastery in Eastern Europe, one of the most sacred sites of Orthodox Christianity. It is also venerated as the most ancient monastery of Rus. Kiev-Pechersk Lavra is included in the World Heritage List. Since 1990 it has been protected by UNESCO. Kiev-Pechersk Lavra is the third most important site after Jerusalem and the holy Mount Athos for the Orthodox Christians. General Director of the Kyiv-Pechersk national sanctuary Maryna GROMOVA: “THE SANCTUARY IS THE BRIDGE BETWEEN THE SACRAL AND SOCIETY CULTURES” (Specially for the “Prime Excursion Bureau”)
The main treasure of the collection is the “Golden Pectoral” – the Tsar breast adornment, depicting scenes from life of Skiffs – nomads. This masterpiece of jewellery art was found in the burial mound “Heavy Grave” in Dnepropetrovsk region in 1971. Director of Historical Treasures Museum of Ukraine Lyudmila STROKOVA: “THE FACT THAT THE MUSEUM IS THE STATE TREASURY MAKES IT UNIQUE” (Specially for “Prime Excursion Bureau”)
The world\'s smallest book is stored here. The fact is officially recorded in Guinness Book of Records. There most of compositions are created in the half of poppy seed. There Egyptian pharaoh rushes through the eye of a needle. Nikolai Syadristy is the author of mini-miracles. His name has been already entered in the history of world art.
The archaeological and numismatic collections of the museum are the especially valuable ones. The collections of weapons and firearms, ethnography, unique books, glassware and china are very interesting too. Now there are over 800 thousand unique artifacts of history and culture in the museum collections. In addition to the main exposition of the museum there are several exhibitions there. General Director of National Museum of History of Ukraine Sergey CHAIKOVSKIY: “IT IS IMPORTANT TO PRESERVE HISTORY FOR OUR DESCENDANTS” (Specially for “Prime Excursion Bureau”)
In Kiev Museum of Russian Art there is the largest collection of Russian paintings, drawings and sculptures in Ukraine. The museum collection is based on the private collections of Kiev patrons of arts. Many paintings by P. Fedotov, I. Shishkin, I. Kramskoy, N. Yaroshenko, I. Repin, V. Vasnetsov, V. Polenov, M. Vrubel, V. Vereshchagin were donated to the museum by Tereschenko family. Later some paintings by A. Arkhipov, A. Rylov, N. Roerich, K. Somov and R. Falk were donated too. Director of Kiev Museum of Russian Art Yuriy VAKULENKO “OUR MUSEUM IS EVEN INHABITED BY GHOSTS” (Specially for “Prime Excursion Bureau”)
Center point of the museum exhibition is the collection of Western European art works. All periods of history of Western European art such as Medieval Art, Renaissance, Baroque, Rococo and Classicism are presented in the exhibition. Director of the Art Museum named after Bogdan and Varvara Khanenko Vera VINOGRADOVA: “WE POSSESS REAL RARITIES THAT NO OTHER MUSEUM HAS” (Specially for “Prime Excursion Bureau”)
Chocolate House is a two-storey high building. It was built in the style of the Venetian Renaissance by the order of Kiev merchant Semen Semenovich Mogilevtsev (1846-1917). The mansion was constructed by the famous architect Vladimir Nikolayev in 1890s.
Collection of the National Art Museum of Ukraine is the most extensive and complete collection of the native Ukrainian art in the world. There are masterpieces of Ukrainian painting, sculpture and graphics created in the period of fifteen centuries - from the times of Kievan Rus until the nowadays.
Museum of Folk Architecture and Life (Pirogovo) is the largest museum in Ukraine. It is a kind of ethnographic "treasury" of Ukraine. The Museum of Folk Architecture and Life is situated on 150 hectares big area. While visiting the Architecture and Landscape complex under the open sky you will be told about all the historical and ethnographic regions of Ukraine.
It is the largest museum complex in Ukraine devoted to the Second World War. It was opened May 9, 1981.The area of the Memorial Complex is over 10 hectares big area. The complex includes the following sites: Museum of World War II with the 102 meter high monument called the Soviet Motherland, the main square with hero-cities alley and two monuments - “Crossing of the Dnieper in 1943" "Heroes of the Front and Home Front" with bronze high relief compositions; “Flames of Glory" Bowl, the open air e
You are to be impressed with "Chernobyl" National Museum conception as well as with its dramatic and expressive way of artistic means used there. "Chernobyl" National Museum is a very informative and technically equipped museum.
National Museum of Ukrainian Literature is the main museum of that kind in our country. The development of Ukrainian literature from the 11th century to the present day can be studied through the museum exhibits. There are about 5 thousand exhibits in the museum collection including some unique printed books. For example you can see the first Slavic printed book called "Apostol". It was printed by Ivan Fedorov.
Museum of book publishing in Ukraine is located in the museum complex of Kiev-Pechersk Lavra. The museum was founded in 1972. The Museum inner space is 930 sq. m big area. There you can see the "unity of form and content". There are the most valuable ancient and modern books designed by the best masters using expensive decorative materials on display in the museum. You can see books with covers decorated with golden and silver embossing. The book frames are made of leather and velvet. There are
This museum is one of the largest art museums in Ukraine. The museum is located in the area of the Kiev-Pechersk Preserve. It is situated in the former Metropolitan’s chambers with the former inner Annunciation Church.
State Museum of Theater, Music and Cinema of Ukraine is located in the area of the Kiev-Pechersk Preserve. It is the only museum of its kind in our country. In 1923 the museum collection was started by legendary art theater "Berezil" actors, led by the brilliant director Les Kurbas. The collection was marked brightly with the national character from the first day of its foundation. Kurbas planned to collect as many items as possible related to both the academic and the folk theater of Ukraine.
Actually that is a remarkable exhibition at the museum complex in the Upper Lavra. The exhibition was opened in 1995. There you can see the holographic copies of the most valuable items stored in the collections of the National Kiev-Pechersk Historical and Cultural Reserve as well as in the National Museum of History of Ukraine. The copies are made in the form of holographic glass displays with an internal layer of a special emulsion.
The Golden Gate is one of the symbols of Kiev. It was known as the main gate of the ancient Kiev for centuries. Now the Golden Gate is one of the main attractions of the Ukrainian capital.
Uniqueness of St. Andrew`s Church in Kiev is in its unusual location and architecture. The Temple was built on an artificial hill and it uses terrace of a two-storey building – stylobate, where long cast-iron staircase leads, as its foundation. This is the only monument of architecture, history and painting of the 18th century in Ukraine, created in style of imperial baroque according to the project of Italian architect Rastrelli. Director of the Museum “St. Andrew`s Church” Zhanna LITVINCHUK:
The unique thing about this temple is its authenticity. St. Cyril’s Church is the second temple in Kiev after Sophia Cathedral that has been preserved in the original forms since Rus’s epoch. You can see ancient Russian wall paintings there too. Many tragic events of Rus’s history took place in the vicinity of St. Cyril’s Church in previous centuries. The most terrible events happened there during World War II as Babiy Yar was situated nearby. You can see St. Cyril’s Church up on the hill.
The most famous literary- memorial museum of Ukrainian capital. The wonderful exposition’s solution is bicolored. Two different worlds - real and literary seem to intertwine here. Bulgakov family`s true belongings alternate with white models imitations of lost everyday life objects, mythical, novel features of the interior. Histories of two families – The Bulgakovs and the Turbinys, the story of the author and his hero are intertwined in the space of several rooms…
This is one of the most interesting, spiritual, creative and original museums in Kiev. It is the most “Kiev” museum dedicated to the most “Kiev” street, besides the first private museum in Ukraine and also the nominee of the European Museum Forum of 2002. This is the only museum n the Continent, devoted to one street. That`s what the one street museum is like – a huge antique store, full of city stories and legends, clearly demonstrating everyday life of the past epochs up to 1970th.
This is one more museum, dedicated to Kiev medicine, to be more exact - to pharmaceutics. Employees of the drug-store kindly guide you to the halls of the drug-store; show you the interior of the cabinet of pharmaceutist, who was also a doctor at that time; and basement laboratory of alchemist; and ancient cella where one was treated by extracts and prayers; and house of wise woman with fragrant herbals under seiling; and old pharmaceutics cellar.
Quite a momentous event took place in the cultural life of Kiev at the very beginning of 2010. The International Museum of Ukrainian embroidery was opened to wide public in Darnytsky district in the capital of Ukraine. This museum is the unique one. It has been created by an expert in the Ukrainian embroidery. The exposition is based only on the expert’s own works. And the works are unique, they are very original...
St. Michael`s Monastery Museum was created on July 1998 right after the works on The Monastery’s reconstruction started. A great number of archeological findings had to be systematized.
Kiev Fortress is the biggest made-of-earth fortress in Europe and the second in size in the world. There was a time when it destroyed half the city without making a single shot: inhabitants of the whole area – Pechersk – were forced to move and many people were evicted because of its construction. The Fortress was constructed in several stages – from 1706 till 1870. The main construction (New Pechersk Fortress) was built in 1830-50th during the regency of Nikolai the First. Kiev became the most
Nikolay Dmitriyevich Strazhesko is a luminary of not just Ukrainian, but also of world medicine. He could have got the Noble Prize, but he lived in a “closed” country, from where it was hard for his discoveries to reach the rest of the world. Strazhesko was the first to describe cardiac infarction. This fact itself is worth learning about this person’s achievements.
The famous American millionaire Armand Hammer came to this museum at night. What did he want to see and hear? Maybe he was attracted by ghosts, which were in cellar of former morgue and in the walls of Anatomic theatre? Nevertheless the Museum was one of the most informative in Kiev, at that time. Kiev and Ukrainian medicine, the role of medical intelligentsia are integral parts of culture and science of our country, and how many discoveries were made here!
Ceremonial opening of “Ukrainian National Republic Museum” dedicated to the period of National Revolution of 1917-1921 took place on January 22, 2009. The center of the exposition is the “Trizub” – the state emblem of Ukrainian National Republic and the original of hard copy of the Central Rada`s Fourth Universal, which proclaimed total state independence of Ukrainian National Republic since January 9 (22), 1918.
This is the newest museum in Kiev, opened to full extend in 2009. It is dedicated to the terrible historical tragedy of Ukraine. Sculptures of grieving angels – keepers of souls of the dead, are placed by the entrance to the territory of the museum. Millstones - “millstones of history”, which crushed many lives, are place around Memory Square. There is a sculpture “Girl with cones” in the center of it. Stalin Regime sent people to prison camps because of these notorious three cones, leaving no c
It was founded as a Museum under Kiev organization of “Memorial” society. Ukraine is lucky. Programs of searching and immortalizing of victims of repressions are not closed here under the mask of cultivating “patriotic view on history”.
The museum introduces creative work of prominent representatives of Ukrainian Diaspora. It was founded on May 29, 1999. In Lifar`s memorial hall – the largest in the museum – there are pictures showing the dancer with Sharle de Golle, Jorge Pompidu, Charlie Chaplin, Evita Peron.
Chernovol`s wife Atena Pashko, his sister Valentina Chernovol, companions from National Ruh of Ukraine helped to create the exposition. There are lots of things that have become rarity, historical in the cabinet. The legendary self-published “Ukrainian Bulletin”, prison photos and letters, political leaflets and personal documents of Vyacheslav Chernovol, the clothes he wore on the day of his death
The Museum of the great Jewish writer is situated in a modern building, built in place of the house, in which the writer created his most famous works. It was opened on March 2, 2009.
Central Museum of Armed Forces of Ukraine was opened on June 14, 1998. The history of military forces from the Stone Age to the present day and military operations in the area of Ukraine are shown in the museum. There are weapons, uniforms, documents and photographs, banners, awards, as well as wax figures of famous warriors in the museum collection. You can see wax figures of Scythian king Athey, Prince of Kiev Svyatoslav, Danilo Galitsky and Bogdan Khmelnitsky.
The museum exposition is arranged chronologically. The history of establishing and development of frontier guards’ troops in the area of Ukraine from the times of Kievan Rus to the present day can be learned there. The museum exposition is located in the halls of the total area of 340 square meters. There are1,274 items in the museum collection.
This is one of the most interesting collections of Ukrainian national rarities. In the six halls of an old governor`s house near Kiev Pechersk Lavra more than 15 thousand exhibits have been collected: painting (folk painting, 500 wonderful icons, professional painting, graphics), national materials (towels, vishyvankas, clothes, carpets), ceramics (makitras, pots, bowls, toys), folk musical instruments (kobzas, banduras, dulcimer, Guzul pipes, wheel lyre), collection of painted Easter eggs and, finally, the memorial department, which tells about creative work of the founder of the museum, the sculpture and the artist Ivan Gonchar.
This land in the broad valley of the Lybid River used to belong to Mikhailovskiy Golden-Domed Monastery. Great Fruit Park appeared here at Soviet times. In 1990, on the eve of our independence, agreement on creation of culture- ethnographic center “Mamayeva Sloboda” was signed. Almost 20 years have passed since then and the Center was opened in July 2009. Now there are 98 constructions, reproducing Ukrainian village of Cossacks era, on its territory.
Hetmanship Museum appeared at the beginning of 1990th. It was one of the first museums devoted to the history of Ukraine in its "forbidden" perspective: the exhibition told about Ivan Mazepa, Pylyp Orlik and Pavlo Skoropadskiy, previously called "traitors of the Ukrainian people,"; about Bogdan Khmelnitskiy - not only as the vassal of the Moscow tsar, but also as a multifaceted politician, aspired to the true independence of his native land.
On the street with the romantic name «Honey» there is one of the greatest museums in the capital - the Aircraft Museum. You will be able to see the very helicopter with vertical flight, the first soviet passenger liner. The only collection of nuclear bombers Tu-22 in the world is also here as well as the airplane from the film «Old men go to fight». It is really the most interesting museum!
This is one of the most popular Kiev museums. The old water tower by elevator brings us underground where we find ourselves in a magic attraction, the main hero of which is water in all its kinds and types. Huge aquariums, the giant lavatory pan, models of artesian well and waste collector – how can they find room for all these things here?
The biggest fire station in Europe is situated in Kiev. Fire Fighting Museum will enable us to get to get to know history and modern times of one of the bravest professions. We will see the first fire truck; find out the way fire fighting technique has developed for over a hundred years.
The national Shevchenko Museum is the main Shevchenko Museum of the country. Its collection includes genuine monuments connected with the outstanding son of Ukraine: originals of Shevchenko art works, documents about his life and creative work, manuscript lists of poems, rare pictures of the poet and his friends, first editions of Shevchenko books signed by the author. The exposition includes almost all Shevchenko editions, starting with intravital ones and literature about him.
The fund of museum consists of above 20 thousands objects. In fact, the exposition presents a complex of memorial cabinets of artists of Ukrainian culture of XX century: writers - A. Holovko, A. Malyshko, I. Mykytenko, P. Panch, L. Pervomayskiy, N. Rybak, U. Smolych, M. Stel’makh, U. Yanovskiy, film director – A. Dovzhenko, composer P. Mayboroda, artist N. Hlushchenko.
One of the oldest Kyiv museums. Was founded as a collection in 1901, formally opened in 1911. In 1912 the famous Kyiv architect Pavlo Alyoshin built a separate building for the museum.
This is one of the biggest technical museums of the country and the biggest university museum in Ukraine. History of the Museum is inseparable from the legendary KPI – Kiev Polytechnic Institute, founded in 1898.
This address, Pankovska street, 9, has been well known in Kiev since the beginning of the XXth century. Right here in 1908 Grushevsky`s family got an estate with a three-story house that became the center of national and cultural life in Ukraine. Mikhail Grushevsky lived here, he was a great Ukrainian historian, a prominent politician and public figure.
It is one of the three Shevchenko`s museums in Kiev. The Memorial Museum reproduces the atmosphere of 1846-47th, when Shevchenko lived in Kiev till his arrest in the case of Kyril and Mefodiy Association. The building itself is a rarity of Kiev house building of the first half of the 19th century.
This is the third in time of opening museum connected with Taras Shevchenko`s life in Kiev. Now items of everyday life of that time are collected in the museum: tableware, clay articles are widely represented, national costumes, paintings and photos, depicting the Kobzar, furniture and household stuff.
Pushkin`s Museum is situated in the house where another writer M. Bulgakov used to live. It was founded in 1999 when the poet’s 200th anniversary was celebrated. The intravital edition of “Yevgeniy Onegin” is among the exhibits. It contains author signs of the poet’s friends and contemporaries – not just literary men, but also famous politicians and statesmen.
The famous Ukrainian poet Maxim Tadeyevich Rylskiy (1895-1964) lived in this house for the last 11 years of his life. A great number of Rylskiy`s manuscripts, his library, many domestic items, including hunting accessories are kept here. Rylskiy was an inveterate hunter and fisherman, active traveler and collector.
Museum of Eminent Ukrainian Culture Personalities - Lesya Ukrainka, Mikhail Staritskiy, Nikolai Lysenko and Panas Saksaganskiy
All the persons, who ever inhabited this area, were legendary figures, more than significant for Ukraine. Among them there were the legendary Ukrainian poetess and dramatist Lesya Ukrainka, the founder of the National Professional School of Composers Nikolai Lysenko, the writer and dramatic figure Mikhail Staritskiy, the coryphaeus of Ukrainian theatre actor Panas Saksaganskiy.
Pavel Tychyna lived in this elite house of People`s Committee type, surrounded by his books, his recollections and his favorite music – he played the piano and bandura pretty well. The atmosphere of the last years of the poet`s life has been preserved in the flat since 1967, the year of the poet`s death. Each room reveals part of the inner world of the owner, part of his soul.
He was supposed to be nominated for Noble Prize. And at the height of stagnation it was done on the initiative of…Ukrainian diaspora. This very fact is worth preserving the memory of him among the following generations. Nikolay Bazhan (1904 – 1983) did a lot before becoming a classic, deputy chairman of the Council of Ministers of the USSR, a laureate, a delegate and a holder of orders.
The great Ukrainian theatre actress Maria Zankovetskaya (Adasovskaya) (1860-1934) is immortalized in many memorials, monuments, names of theatres and streets. But there is just one Museum dedicated to her. It is situated in Kiev in a restored house in the middle of the public garden on Vasilkovskaya (Krasnoarmeyskaya) Str.
He was a genius. Ivan Kavaleridze is called Ukrainian Michelangelo. He was one of the greatest Ukrainian masters of the past century. He was an ambiguous personality, a philosopher in his creative work and thinker in art that was natural for talent of such level.
The famous Ukrainian composer, pianist, teacher, musical-public figure Victor Kosenko (1896-1938) lived only 42 years. Kosenko is a bright representative of domestic romantic music of the first half of XX century, the founder of the leading genres of Ukrainian fortepiano and chamber music. His works belong to the instrumental, vocal, vocal-instrumental, choral and symphonic genres.
The Museum, situated in the building of school 197 of Svyatoshin district, tells us about the famous author of words of the famous Kiev anthem “How not to love you, my Kiev”. The school was opened in 1970. In 28 years it was named after Dmitriy Lutsenko and his Museum was founded there.
Museum of Bread has existed in Kiev since 1983. Blockade and cosmic bread, history of growing crops, instruments of labor of our forefathers-agriculturists, from time of Tripillya to the XX century – all these are represented in this Museum. It is called “House of Bread”.
There are two observatories in Kiev. The oldest one, belonging to the University, is situated in the center of the city on Observatornaya Hill. The main Observatory, referring to the Academy of Sciences, is located in the Southern outskirts of the city, in the center of the big woodland park called “Goloseevskiy forest”. It was founded in the summer of 1944.
Kiev observatory is more than 150 years old. The main exhibition of the Museum is placed in so-called “Meridian Pavilion” which has existed since 1995. The exhibition represents astronomic techniques and calculating devices, historical telescopes, navigation and geodesic equipment. Astronomy started with quite “earthly’ things: ancient Egyptians and Sumerian wanted to know the time of overflow of their great rivers.
This is the most childish Museum. It first comes to mind when we decide what to show children in Kiev. The collection of toys of the Museum does credit to any European city. The collection has been gathered here since 1930th and it causes nostalgia, kind and nagging like childish photos of one’s father and mother, as pictures of our dearly loved children in cradles and bows.
Postman is one of the most positive characters of children fairy-tales, even the main postman of the USSR – grumbling Pechkin, whose phrases became common. Useful and necessary work of a postman is the most required in the country. Maybe, our children would like to become postmen after visiting this Museum.
TV Museum has started to function in Kiev recently. An integral part of our life, during 60-70 years it rose from trial shows to mass development not just of telecommunication technologies, but of TV appliances. Kiev Museum is located in the TV Center Building and belongs to the National Telecommunication Company of Ukraine.
This Museum dedicated to the most favorite art of our childhood. And childhood of all girls and boys of the world. Circus! In Kiev, rich in different museums, there is such one. It exists from 2007 and situated in one of the most beautiful Kiev parks. We enter the pavilion and fall into atmosphere of backstage, in that secret, which we dreamed to discover from our childhood.
Magdeburg Law – is the code of ordinary law and court decrees of the German city of Magdeburg, written down in the 18th century and recognized as the pattern in many countries of Central and Eastern Europe. Visitors of the museum can observe everyday life, rituals and holidays of Kiev and Podol, in particular, activity of local authorities, architectural history of the city. The museum represents rare photos of the old city, archeological findings, archive documents, icon painting, paining and graphics, the faience of Mezhygorye, cards and coins.
Museum has existed from the middle of 1980th. The life of apian family, the technology of gathering of honey, developing of scientific apiculture, legends and beliefs, connected with gathering of honey – you can discover all these in the Museum. Here you will be told that there are 3 kinds of apiculture: wild-hive beekeeping, apiarian and body apiculture.
Charity in history of Kiev is emphasized in the Museum as well as personalities of secular and church patrons of art, thanks to whom the city was enriched with many buildings – from temples to educational institution. And they did not think about PR and image. They sacrificed their capitals in intensity of faith and inside need to share with society
In every district of Kiev national museums were founded at Soviet times. The most famous is Svyatoshin one now. Things, equal to which there are not even in the Museum of History of Kiev, are kept here. There is collection of architectural drawings of the district here. Architect and author Vsevolod Suvorov presented this collection to the Museum.
There are only three necropolises with museum status in Ukraine: Lychakovskoye in Lvov, the cemetery on Zelenichi street in Chernovtsy and Lukyanovskoye in Kiev. Sculptural monuments and burial vaults of the cemetery have been preserved amazingly well. There are monuments, designed by I. Kavaleridze and S. Konenkov, burial vaults, created by famous Kiev architects V. Nikolaev, E. Bradtman, A. Gekker. Over 2000 graves and gravestones of Lukyanovsloye cemetery have been included into the list of Kiev monuments, 227 of them have the status of objects of historical – cultural heritage.
The Museum of Wax Figures was opened again on the 4 of March, 2010. 63 figures of collection “live” in the area of more than 200 meters. They had to huddle in smaller space, so it was not possible to show the whole collection
The old tower of the Kiev Fortress became a shelter to the specific Museum of toilet culture of different countries and epochs. Perhaps, the progress of civilization is seen more clearly by this example. It is very curious to see the models of construction of sewage in medieval towers, for example the famous closet in order’s castle of sword-bearers, and informational stands with pictures, which show the evolution of backside beginning from the ancient cultures.
It is the exclusive museum in Ukraine. It was opened in 1994 to the centenary of sewage in the building of former pumping house. The samples of sewage equipment and pipes from antique Greece and Rome are presented in two large halls; actually the first sewage system made of ceramic pipes appeared at that time.
What is “gryndzholy”? How did look like machine-tool for treatment of hemp? The first vacuum cleaner was made in imperial time and it survived! Do you want to see this? Then go to the museum on Stepan Sagaidak Street!
Kiev underground reaches the age of 50 in 2010. In connection with this the exposition of the Museum (opened in 2000) was supplemented with new exhibits. The exposition is placed in 3 halls –a hint that first metro trains were three-car units. Big pictures of stations, with indicated date of opening, are placed chronologically above the stands
It is the first private Museum in Kiev. It was founded by Ukrainian cardiologist Igor Ponamarchuk in the middle of 1990. About 300 icons of late XV – early XX century are represented in the exposition, and also there are masterpieces of Ukrainian folk artist Maria Primachenko in separate exposition. Exhibitions of pictures and sculptors of modern artists are hold in a separate hall.
Today, these are three exhibition spaces for permanent and temporary exhibitions (the entire I-st floor). Now it is the only museum in our country where the works of many representatives of various art schools and directions of all regions of Ukraine are preserved from the 1930s to the present.
This Museum Complex was planned as the most widespread museum and exhibition place in Kiev and in Ukraine. It is situated in the building of Old Arsenal – distinguished monument of history and fortification of the end of XVIII – beginning of XIX century.
This is one of the most famous brands of Ukrainian capital in the world and the biggest center of modern art in the capital. Exhibitions, held at “Pinchuk Art Center” are often provocative, but it only increases its popularity from year to year.