|The Castle of Princes of Ostrog, Rovno region||The interior of the Castle in Ostrog, Rovno region||Trinity Monastery-Fortress, 15-17th centuries, Mezhyrich, Rovno region|
The first stop on our way is Korets – family home of magnates Koretskie. Two interesting objects are situated here – ruins of an old castle and a functioning monastery. Korets was first mentioned in chronicles in 1150. The town was owned by noble Polish clans, the main of which – Koretskie – disappeared in 1651. After extinction of Koretskie clan in 1652, the town got under authority of Prince Chartoryiskiy, who built there a palace in Baroque style, which was burnt down in 1832. Later on, it was not restored. Ruins of the Palace still rise above picturesque rocks.
Trinity Female Monastery is the main construction of Korets. It is situated on the territory of the former Franciscan Monastery (1620). In 19th century Catholics were ousted and Catholic Church was rebuilt in Byzantine style, adding Ivan Predtecha Church (1890) and bell tower (1905) to it. Anna Ardo (maiden name - Olenina), to whom Pushkin devoted his poem “I loved you”, is buried in the Monastery. The Monastery was not closed at Soviet times and was considered the “model” female monastery in the USSR.
Let’s move to Ostrog – the cradle of Ukrainian national education, science and culture, the patrimonial residence of the famous Princes of Ostrog.
Excursion about the city: the castle of Princes of Ostrog (16th century) with Epiphany Church (1886-1889), Museum of Princes of Ostrog (founded in 1916) – one of the most interesting museums of Volyn, Tatar and Lutsk (16th century) towers ( Museum of book printing history is situated in the last one), new tower (15th century) – the only model of one-tower castle in Ukraine which preserve its original appearance till present time, Assumption Catholic Church (15th century) with Chapel of Roman Catholic priest Komornitskiy (1733-1780), defensive synagogue (17th century), Ostrog Academy.
Ostrog is one of small towns of Volyn with the richest history. It was here that the famous editions “Azbuka” by Ivan Fedorovich and Ostrog Bible – the main sacred object of Ukraine, the book on which Presidents of the country give their Oath of Allegiance, were published.
History of Ostrog Academy – is the history of glory of Ukrainian education. This is the first institution of higher education in Ukraine and Eastern Europe. It was founded in 1576 be Prince Vasiliy-Konstantin Ostrozhskiy and Princess Galyshka Otrozhskaya. Among graduates of the University are such famous personalities as Hetman Petr Sagaidachniy, brothers Demyan and Severin Nalyvayko, bishops and enlighteners Meletiy Smotritskiy, Iov Boretskiy, Elisey Pletinetskiy. The educational establishment has had the status of national university since 2000. Territory of the Academy is equipped according to European standards, which is rightful reason for pride for its management, students and ordinary residents of Ostrog.
Mezhurich (founded in 1386) is situated 3 km. away from Ostrog. You will be impressed by picturesque view there: against a background of earth ramparts, there rises Trinity Monastery- Fortress with its mighty walls and tower (15-17th centuries). You will be able to see the ancient icon of Virgin Mary dated 16th century there. The monastery, like most historically important constructions of Rovno region, was founded by Princes of Ostrog.
The temple makes impression not of a sacred place, but of a fortress and that is the way it is: the church is a part of defensive system. It is surrounded by thick walls, decorated with Renaissance ornament. The walls of the unusual monastery are 1.5. meters thick and 8 meter high. The Monastery belongs to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Moscow Patriarchate.
The program includes: moving to Lutsk, examination of Lutsk Castle (13 – 14th centuries), Peter and Paul’s Cathedral (17th century), the house of the Kosachy – family home of Lesya Ukrainka and all her literary family. Jesuitical, Dominican and Bernardine monasteries, synagogue (14-15th centuries), Lutheran Church, Lutsk House with chimeras (the house of the painter Golovan).
Lyubart Castle – is a mighty medieval fortification construction, which is among the five most famous castles of Ukraine. In due time, the city authorities decided not to ruin the well-established ensemble of the central part of the city by standard constructions, that’s why the few constructions, situated in the center, are built in archaistic style.
- Duration of the excursion – 2 days.
- Comfortable air-conditioned bus with microphone.
- The cost includes: traveling expenses, excursion services on the route, group insurance, entrance tickets.
- The hotel for overnight stay is determined individually, depending on the budget.
- Individual excursions are available on your request at any convenient time, any type of transport (2, 5, 17,23,30,45 seats).
|Ostrog Bible, 1581||Dubno, the Castle||Derman, the Monastery|